As the world eagerly anticipates the 2023 Women's Down Under, let's take a look back at the list of winners of the Women's World Cup.

FIFA Women's World Cup Winner's list

YearWinnerRunner-UpShowdown Details
2023TBDTBDWho will etch their name in history?
2019United StatesNetherlandsThe United States cruised to a decisive 2-0 victory, defending their title with fervor
2015United StatesJapanIn a thrilling rematch of the 2011 final, the exacted revenge with a resounding 5-2 victory
2011JapanUnited StatesAfter a nail-biting 2-2 draw in extra time, Japan triumphed 3-1 in a dramatic penalty shootout
2007GermanyBrazilGermany clinched their second consecutive title, defeating Brazil 2-0 in a closely contested match
2003GermanyGermany secured their first world title, triumphing 2-1 in a thrilling match that went into extra time
1999United StatesChinaAfter a tense 0-0 draw in extra time, the USA emerged victorious in a nerve-wracking penalty shootout (5-4)
1995NorwayGermanyNorway defeated Germany 2-0, making a significant mark in the tournament's history
1991United StatesNorwayIn the inaugural tournament, the United States set the standard, overcoming Norway with a 2-1 victory

Inception and Early Days (1991-1999):

The inaugural Women's World Cup took place in 1991 in China. The United States emerged victorious, setting a high bar for the tournaments to come. By 1999, on home soil, the USWNT secured their second title. The 1999 tournament is best remembered for Brandi Chastain's iconic celebratory moment after scoring the winning penalty in the final.

  • 1991: Winner – United States, Runner-up – Norway, Third Place – Sweden
  • 1995: Winner – Norway, Runner-up – Germany, Third Place – United States
  • 1999: Winner – United States, Runner-up – China, Third Place – Brazil

The New Millennium: A Time of Change (2003-2011):

The new millennium welcomed new victors. Germany clinched consecutive titles in 2003 and 2007. The 2011 edition saw Japan make history by becoming the first Asian team to win the tournament held in Germany.

  • 2003: Winner – Germany, Runner-up – Sweden, Third Place – United States
  • 2007: Winner – Germany, Runner-up – Brazil, Third Place – United States
  • 2011: Winner – Japan, Runner-up – United States, Third Place – Sweden

Recent Competitions (2015-2019):

The United States returned to form in the most recent competitions, claiming their third World Cup title in 2015 and another in 2019. With a total of four wins, they currently hold the record for the most successful nation in the Women's World Cup.

  • 2015: Winner – United States, Runner-up – Japan, Third Place –
  • 2019: Winner – United States, Runner-up – Netherlands, Third Place – Sweden

Looking Ahead to World Cup 2023 Down Under:

As we anticipate the excitement and athletic prowess of the 2023 Women's World Cup, we wonder: Will the United States continue their reign, or will a new champion rise?

In the meantime, let's celebrate the past champions and runners-up for their immense contributions to this beautiful game.

Follow us for the latest updates from the 2023 Women's World Cup.

Photo: Instagram/USWNT